

June 5, 2024

Bill Matthews
Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada
Bill.Matthews@tbs-sct.gc.ca

Dear Secretary Matthews,

First, congratulations on your recent appointment to the position of secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada.

This new position comes at a difficult time in the relationship between the Treasury Board Secretariat as an employer and the federal public service. As you know, most federal bargaining agents have now launched legal action against the employer following the imposition of a three-day mandatory in-office presence, which is set to take effect on September 9, 2024.

June 9, 2024, marks the beginning of the 2024 National Public Service Week (NPSW), which has been celebrated since 1992 to acknowledge the contributions of federal public sector employees to the well-being of this country.

This year, however, the Canadian Association of Professional Employees (CAPE) is calling on its members to boycott NPSW events across all federal workplaces where our members work. The profound disrespect that TBS has shown its employees in its unilateral changes to mandatory in-office days, despite legal obligations to consult with bargaining agents, shows that NPSW collaboration this year would only be an exercise in cynicism.

We are a union made up largely of policy analysts, and TBS has not provided a shred of evidence to justify its decisions around hybrid work. Minister Anand was recently quoted as saying that the decision to impose a three-day per week mandatory in-office presence was a TBS decision, and we expect your office to take responsibility for this.

Our relationship is deteriorating as a result of this decision, and we have no intention of validating employer overreach and abuse. CAPE will discourage our members from participating in token celebrations of their service while their well-being and dignity are under attack from an employer that has made no effort to explain decisions that impact them profoundly while at the same time, wasting billions of taxpayer dollars. We hope that our relationship can heal over time, beginning with the revocation of the Direction on the Prescribed Presence in the Workplace in its entirety.

I have copied all deputy heads of departments and agencies where our members are represented.

Yours,

Nathan Prier President

Canadian Association of Professional Employees

Cc:

Stefanie Beck Deputy Minister

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

stefanie.beck@agr.gc.ca

Erin O'Gorman President

Canada Border Services Agency Erin.O'Gorman@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Isabelle Mondou Deputy Minister Canadian Heritage

isabelle.mondou@pch.gc.ca

Anne Kelly Commissioner

Correctional Service of Canada anne.kelly@csc-scc.gc.ca

Stéphane Perrault Chief Electoral Officer Elections Canada

stephane.perrault@elections.ca

Jean-François Tremblay

**Deputy Minister** 

Environment and Climate Change Canada

Daryell Nowlan A/President

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency president-president@acoa-apeca.gc.ca

Charlotte-Anne Malischewski Interim Chief Commissioner

Canadian Human Rights Commission Charlotte-Anne.Malischewski@chrc-

ccdp.gc.ca

Vicky Eatrides

Chairperson and CEO

Canadian Radio Television and Telecommunications Commission

vicky.eatrides@crtc.gc.ca

Valerie Gideon Deputy Minister

Crown-Indigenous Relations and

Indigenous Affairs

valerie.gideon@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca

Paul Thompson Deputy Minister

**Employment and Social Development** 

Canada

paul.thompson@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

JF.Tremblay@ec.gc.ca

Annette Gibbons Deputy Minister

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Annette.gibbons@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Christopher McLennan

Deputy Minister of International

Development

Global Affairs Canada

Christopher.mclennan@international.gc.ca

Stephen Lucas Deputy Minister Health Canada

stephen.lucas@hc-sc.gc.ca

Manon Brassard Chairperson

Immigration and Refugee Board Manon.brassard@irb-cisr.gc.ca

Gina Wilson Deputy Minister

Indigenous Services Canada gina.wilson@sac-isc.gc.ca

Simon Kennedy Deputy Minister

Innovation, Science, and Economic

**Development Canada** 

Simon.Kennedy@ised-isde.gc.ca

Leslie Weir

Librarian and Archivist of Canada Library and Archives Canada leslie.weir@bac-lac.gc.ca

Jennifer Oades Chairperson

Parole Board of Canada

Jennifer.oades@pbc-clcc.gc.ca

Yves Giroux

Parliamentary Budget Officer

Chris Forbes
Deputy Minister
Finance Canada

Chris.Forbes@fin.gc.ca

**David Morrison** 

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Global Affairs Canada

David.Morrison@international.gc.ca

Rob Stewart

**Deputy Minister of International Trade** 

Global Affairs Canada

Rob.stewart@international.gc.ca

**Heather Jeffrey** 

President

Public Health Agency of Canada heather.jeffrey@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Harpreet Kochhar Deputy Minister

Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship

Canada

harpreet.kochhar@cic.gc.ca

Kelly Gillis

**Deputy Minister** 

Infrastructure Canada kelly.gillis@infc.gc.ca

Shalene Curtis-Micallef

Deputy Minister Justice Canada

shalene.curtis-micallef@justice.gc.ca

Natasha Kim

**Associate Deputy Minister** 

National Defence

natasha.kim@forces.gc.ca

Michael Vandergrift Deputy Minister

Natural Resources Canada

michael.vandergrift@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer pbo-dpb@parl.gc.ca

Marie-Chantal Girard
President
Public Service Commission
Marie-chantal.girard@cfp-psc.gc.ca

Mike Duheme Commissioner Royal Canadian Mounted Police Michael.duheme@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Arun Thangaraj Deputy Minister Transport Canada arun.thangaraj@tc.gc.ca Shawn Tupper
Deputy Minister
Public Safety Canada
Shawn.tupper@ps-sp.gc.ca

Arianne Reza
Deputy Minister
Public Services and Procurement
Canada
Arianne.Reza@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

Andre Loranger Chief Statistician of Canada Statistics Canada andre.loranger@statcan.gc.ca

Frances McRae
Deputy Minister
Woman and Gender Equality Canada
frances.mcrae@fegc-wage.gc.ca